Monday, August 1, 2011

The Harvest of Grace (Cindy Woodsmall)

Sylvia Fischer is not your typical Old Order Amish woman. Rather than tending to the house and taking care of a brood of children, she prefers to be out the barn taking care of the animals and managing the family dairy farm. However, soon she is betrayed by the one she loves and makes some decisions she later regrets. She decides it is time to move on with her life and away from temptations that await her at her family’s homestead.

She ends up on the Blank family’s debt-ridden farm, eager to do all she can to turn things around. There she meets their son, Aaron Blank, who has recently made some life changes that his parents, specifically his father, refuse to recognize. After a little bit of a rough start, Aaron and Sylvia learn how to work together and understand each other.

Such is part of the story that takes place in The Harvest of Grace by Cindy Woodsmall. This being the third book in a series, it is not long before we are also re-united with old friends Ada and Israel, Lena and Gray, Jonathan and Deborah and of course Cara and Ephraim and little Lori.

I enjoyed this book immensely. I found it hard to put down because I was eager to see what would happen next with these characters that I have grown to love. I hope there will be more books in the series. Each one of the characters has such a great story and Cindy does a great job with the character development in her books – this one is no exception! If you enjoy good Amish fiction, I recommend The Harvest of Grace and the rest of the Ada’s House novels!

**I received this book as an Advanced Reader’s Copy from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.**

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comment!